How to tell your guild, you’re just not into them

Ok  lets start this by making sure my friends know I’m not leaving Eastwind *pets EW* *sends EW chocolates* But a friend ingame mentioned to me, last night in fact, that he was mulling over the decision to leave his guild. What a coinkydink!  Matticus put out this challenge for Valentine’s day themed post. So today we look at the pain of Valentine’s breakups.

1. Decide if you want to leave on a good note. For me this is a no brainer Regardless of what has gone down in your guild there is no reason to leave with a sour taste in everyone’s mouth. You will just come off as a jerk and since you are leaving any derogatory comments will be dismissed. Besides why burn bridges unless you have to. **if you decide not to leave on a good note please skip to step 5,  if you have no friends in the guild go straight to /gquit.

2. Talk with officers or Guild leader about your reasoning. It has been a standing order in all the guilds (2) I’ve been in since BC that officers should contact any members leaving to find out the reasons. Not to try and pressure them to stay but to find out the reasoning. Officers aren’t mind readers. Perhaps your problem is something they can fix if they only knew about it, or something they can work on to make the guild better as a whole if you are leaving regardless. You are a member of a guild; it is your responsibility to let them know if/when problems arise. Nothing hurts more when people up and leave out of the blue. (An opinion I’ve held long before I got the officer tag slapped on my back. Also one I’ve put into practice when leaving guilds. I know its shocking! I haven’t always been with EW)

3. Decide if you are looking for a guild on the side or fly solo for awhile. There are benefits to both. I’ve never really flown solo. Every time I’ve moved guilds; it has been to be with friends I play with more, or who are actually online. When the hub was playing, he would always fly solo, to either give himself time after leaving a guild to ensure he was going where he really wanted (and not a grass is greener scenario) or to avoid the title guild hopper. I bounced more in Vanilla or Classic WoW than BC, 4 guild moves total and 1 of those shouldn’t really count since all the other members left for EQ2 leaving me alone.

4. Let an officer know when you are ready to do it. I know it sounds redundant but I like to give the, “Hey I’m disbanding now” heads up to people. Its giving that last impression which can be lasting.

5. Say your goodbyes. More than likely you have friends on when you are going to /gquit. Say goodbye, if not in chat or tells at least in a quick mail. Who wants to log in and see their favorite tank has left the guild and you forgot their name has some weird character in it and can’t spell it!

Overall I believe in leaving any group of people on a good note. I will admit I’ve left one before with a sour taste in my mouth, but ultimately you do what is best for you and conduct yourself how you see best. Now for those in awesome guilds, its the day after Valentine’s did you give your guild roses and chocolates?

Published in: on February 15, 2009 at 9:04 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://leneliesvoice.wordpress.com/2009/02/15/how-to-tell-your-guild-youre-just-not-into-them/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. A solid list! As a GM, I know that those are all points I would expect from players that plan on departing.

    • Thank you :) I really feel that your last impression is as important as your first. Btw thank you for inspiring me to blog :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

