Goldshire, ‘RP’, and stepping the bounds

*nailed to the front doors of the Gold Lion Inn*

Dear Goldshire ‘RPer’,

Upon reading Ego today, I was reminded of you. Instead of spilling the bile that rose from my belly in her fair ear, I have bright it here. You may not remember me, and it has been quite some time I admit. Perhaps relating the events of our encounter you will have your memory sufficiently jarred to understand my reason for writing.

You see, I’m a mother and my child will occasionally get the bug to create a new character and want to play. Easy enough as we have two accounts in the house and don’t mind indulging her character creation love. We started this particular weekend morning with humans, though I did try to persuade her to the more lovely (and remote) draenei. You see I knew you would be there GRP. Hanging out not just in Goldshire but in the vicinity and I dearly did not want to meet you this weekend of all weekends.

But alas, such dreams of watching over my little one’s low level character and seeing her expression as she uncovers the story were dashed quickly enough. We hadn’t made the full walk from Northshire Abby to Goldshire before you came upon us, with your crude language, content, and emoting. A swift whisper asking you to leave us alone was brushed off and you commenced to follow and hunt us down across the forest. When your behavior got to a point I could not in any way allow to continue, I reminded you that the other character you were sending whispers to was an under age child and to leave them alone. I certainly cannot believe you were unaware that trying to solicit a child for ‘fun’ in Goldshire would be allowed by the local constabulary.

Perhaps you thought I was joking. I was not. Nor was I joking when I informed you that your actions were harassment and you had been reported. You see, I took your behavior very seriously. Harass me all you like, I am an adult, I know the proper recourse. However, harass my child, after being informed of the situation you are in and you have stepped into a different world. A humorless world, where I take your actions and words as seriously indeed.

I hope you recall the incident dear GRP, I certainly do. Though like everything you said and did that day, my daughter paid it no attention has gone on blissfully unaware of what you tried to do. No this is a call for you to remember. Regardless of YOUR intent in Goldshire, many new adventures to Azeroth come there fresh from Northshire Abby. I implore you to take jeed when someone requests you leave them alone. Mark well that not all share a love of your particular brand of ‘fun’. We certainly are not in a mature only world here (game is rated T and my daughter is a tween); remember that the next time you yell at someone, “You knew what you’d get coming to Goldshire!”

The Goldshire you are looking for is best kept in private, where as the one I want has funny looking ‘!’ over people’s heads and involves the life and times of the people there. We share this little piece of land. It is not unreasonable to ask you conduct yourself within the bounds of human decency. However, if you find yourself unable to conduct yourself thus, perhaps you will do better to throw yourself on the front lines of the next battle or find yourself a particularly deadly duel. I have made many friends in my travels over the years, and not a few of them are among the unsavory back alley types, should such a meeting need to be arranged.

Yours truly,

Concerned Citizen of Azeroth

Published in: on February 28, 2009 at 3:55 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://leneliesvoice.wordpress.com/2009/02/28/stepping-the-bounds/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. [...] have I known that Silver Hand’s Goldshire was a seedy place to be avoided. However, when I returned to Amalya on the Moon Guard server I was [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

