Understanding why you want to wear these clothes

Today will be will be discussing…stat weights. To begin we have a few of the many tools out there that allow you to weight stats to sift through gear.All numerical values I use in the example have not been checked for accuracy and exist to illustrate a point.

Rawr

Loot Rank

WowHead

Tank Points

While these are all good tools to use, they are useless if we do not have an understanding of what stat weighting is.Essentially you are giving a numerical value to a stat, the higher the value the more important you find it to be. I admit this is a very simplified explanation but for a more detailed look please see here! The good people at LO happily educated me on the math involved. So lets jump right in and set up some guidelines. For todays example I will break from priests and look at tank stats.

Our tank in todays frigid Northrend wilds needs to start somewhere when looking at his gear to take on forces arrayed before him. But where to start? Everywhere I looked they all said the same thing 540 Defense! But after hitting the magic 540 where do you go from there? Well if you followed the link you would just browse the well done guides and let them lead you by the hand like I did. But you are here and I like the company so lets continue.

Next you will be looking for evasion, hit, expertise and health. All these things will make my life as a healer easier. Now lets assume you have been gathering gear to make 540 def. and now are looking to round yourself out with the other stats I’ve just listed? Its time to create your stat weights!

To do this will we ill need to assign a value to each stat. I prefer to keep my numbers smaller as I find I value certain stats close enough not to warrent a larger spread. You however may be different and see a lack in your gear that desperately needs to be filled. If so you will want a larger spread of numbers.

Example: Currently I weight haste at .06 and crit at .04 I keep all my numbers under 1.

No method is the end all be all. However the larger the number the more ‘weight’ you are giving the stat. So looking at our tank who we will state has the requisite 540 def., how do we want to weight him? First lets go with multiples of 10 up to 100. ie 10, 20, 30

Evasion (why let the boss hit you in the first place?) is split between Dodge and Parry so lets go 50/50 for the sake of argument. ( I have not checked the mat because when I poked around Tank Spot I noticed they had already weighted all gear and posted lists, making me ponder my warrior tank getting dusted off)

Hit (I find this an often overlooked tank skill) you can’t cause threat on a boss if you can’t hit him. We have a hard target of 8%, but we can’t neglect our other stats in the hunt for threat. so we will weight this 30.

Health, need a good bit of HP to be pounded by a boss. So this I’ll give a 40.

And there we have our sample weights! Plug this into Wowhead, Rawr, or Loot Rank and let them compare the gear for you! Tankpoints is specially designed to help tanks with all requisite math built into the mod. YAY!

Well I hope this helps you understand weighting a little more.

Published in: on February 21, 2009 at 4:23 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://leneliesvoice.wordpress.com/2009/02/21/understanding-why-you-want-to-wear-these-clothes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

