A Tasty Weekend Event

Side track into the real world for a moment on one of my side interests. Food.

I love good food, I love new food, and I especially love good new food. So! This weekend I will be meandering my way in the Taste of Tacoma. If you are over 21 (and I am!) then you will find the Wine and Roses tasting event in the Point Defiance Rose Garden is not to be missed. $15 gets you 1 glass and 5 tastes of regional wines. But more you get a gorgeous setting to stroll around and sip your wine in. While not my first stop (I need the food or I get tipsy easily) it is a stop I have yet to miss when attending, as my cupboards will prove. (Honestly having the commemorative wine glasses helps, because when it is gloomy and rainy out, I pull out a glass, pour some wine and remember walking in awesome heat around lovely roses…amazingly the rain isn’t so bad then) And if wine isn’t your speed fear not! A beer garden awaits you.  (and less alcoholic drinks as well)

But the Taste isn’t just about wine and roses. So many different restaurants participate that it is a great change to discover a new place without having to commit to an entire meal. To keep costs low and encourage participates to have a “taste” of any food that catches their eye, the Taste has created tastes which are $3. But the saving option goes beyond just little tastes. The prices are kept under $7 for food, and a coupon book is available as well giving a 15% discount. (btw the first time I had gator was at my first of Taste J )

Set up just down from the food vendors are craft merchants galore. Nicnaks not your speed? There is a comedy state and music. (I can’t comment on this year yet but last year there were carnival rides set up for kids as well. And…a wii station *nods* ohhhh yeah I loved it. I wanted the wii car sooo bad, so bad.)

Everyone’s budget is tight specially this summer with the economy. But if you can squeeze the money and know to watch your spending while there the Taste of Tacoma is a great splurge. If you get there early you can find free parking, or park at the Pierce Transit and take a ride down for $3.50. After the weekend I will let you all know how it holds up to last year.

Btw Can’t make it this weekend? Bite of Seattle next month!

*Updated a pricing error

Published in: on June 24, 2009 at 7:03 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://leneliesvoice.wordpress.com/2009/06/24/a-tasty-weekend-event/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

