A Redeeming DeathKnight Tank

Sometimes another player will impress me enough in a pug that I curse the fact they are on another server. Last night was one of those nights. Picture the scene if you will *wavy flashback scene commencing* Delith opts to do her daily random late in the evening (or wee hours of Sunday morning depending on how you view anytime  after 12am) The randomizer sends her to Trial of the Champion  and the group does a fine job swacking it down with ease. The DK dps asks if anyone is up for more and being the emblem greedy person I am I go for it but it is just the DK and myself furthering on.

This time we head into Pit of Saron with a DK tank, DK dps, Ret pally and Warlock. Again I am not stressing as the tank seems to holding things fine and I’ll be honest I rarely pay attention to dps numbers unless I am dps. My first warning this run isn’t going to be as smooth as the previous is when the tank (Ceicil – Dath’Remar, but he had funky special characters in his name *sigh*) sends me a tell before the first boss letting me know he isn’t sure how long the fight will take and expect it to be bumpy.

There should be a record kept for your slowest kill. This did not bode well for Delith. The ramp trash is always a pain and I wasn’t looking forward to it being slow and longer for me to heal through. Silly me. I need to learn to worry about the next fight not the fight I think will be hard. Krick and Ick, I’ve never on Delith had a harder time with this boss. Kudos really go to Ceicil on this fight because we ended up two manning it. Our DPS all died to Poison Nova. Yep no one but the tank ran out ( I was already out of range) Ok maybe they missed the announcement he was going to do it. We need DPS, Delith pops battle rez on the pally (and there is my mistake). Pally gets up, gets healed, immediately dies to Nova again. Yep. Ceicil proves DKs can do lovely damage as tanks and finishes off the boss while I heal my tooshy off.

As anticipated the healing up the ramps to the gauntlet was intense and kept my fingers moving. The Hub chose to come in and give me huggles after being out, to which he got the icy “Do you not see me healing like a mad woman here?” glare. You have to give it to him, he takes it in stride and just says “Group that good huh?”.  And overall he is right the group is enough to make me bang my head. But the tank is freaking awesome and I can’t just leave a good tank hanging. Especially after the DPS ignores his instructions in the gauntlet and almost dies. We are at the last boss, can’t give up yet!

In the end we downed it but it was really done on the strength of our tank. He knew the fights and was excellent at his job overall. It was heartening to see a DK tank not just drop group the moment anything got bumpy. The only downside? He isn’t on my server! *curses*

Published in: on May 3, 2010 at 5:36 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://leneliesvoice.wordpress.com/2010/05/03/a-redeeming-deathknight-tank/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

