Healing in Cataclysm

Have you stepped into a dungeon and felt the pain of your mana and thought, “What the HELL?”

I really did have that WTH moment as the first pack was aoe’d down and health started dropping. My mana tanked out and my inner GRRR went off. I really felt the difference the changes to mitigation have made. Xandi and I commiserated the life of disc priests in 5mans.

He complained to me, as I was busy busting out quests to level, that mana regen was horrible, awful, and down right dreadful. In my blithe, I am leveling ways, I asked simply “Are you using Archangel?” To which he replied, “No” and I chalked up all problems to this. Then the above happened (I AM specced into Archangel and use it…when I can)

I was right and I was wrong. Archangel will help with mana problems via the mana return and increase the healing thus also helping with mana problems as the healing is bigger and badder, thus using less healing. But to use Archangel we need to be able to cast Smite on a target to trigger Archangel in the first place. This is where the problems lie.

A. We need enough mana to be able to use Archangel in the first place.

B. We need the time to work in Smite while we are healing.

Currently, leveling in a dungeon with the rocking green gear we have this isn’t as likely to happen. I have been able to do it however. (Mind you it was with an 85 level overgeared for normals Warlock) *hugs Jairone*.  I was able to work in Smites to power up heals and get Archangel popped off. The difference in my mana was noticable.

I remembered to cast Power Infusion for haste and reduced mana costs. Oh that sucker is now on my prime bar again. *hugs Power Infusion* What ability do I love? Is it you? Oh I think it is!

Cataclysm ends the time of lazy, for both heals and the rest of your 5man teams. It is back to mad dash, use all your abilities days. We’ve been spoiled my fellow healers. We have to flex our mad crazy healing muscles now. Pop those abilities and conserve that mana. Oh and smack your tank to use their abilities and dps to get out of the freaking fire! Making our job harder? No longer ok.

I believe the mana and healing abundance of Lich King has made us lazy players. As with BC and LK,  fundamental changes coupled with lower gear for the content means adjustment. The old addages about staying out of the fire seem laughable to post about and recommend but experience tells me while it should be second nature by now it isn’t.

Published in: on December 30, 2010 at 4:18 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://leneliesvoice.wordpress.com/2010/12/30/healing-in-cataclysm/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

