Kudos to David Gaider, Bioware, and the Gamer Community

*dusts this off* Hi again. *looks around* soo dusty around here isn’t it? I should pop in here more instead of immediately going home to load my games <.< Yes. But look I got motivated to post something!

As you may be aware Dragon Age 2 released on Tuesday March 8th. If you have pondered what has Lenelie been doing; there is your answer. Dragon Age. I’m on play through 3.5 Don’t ask I got bored with the warrior I started and  wanted to make thinges go boom again (<3 mages). I have an extremely long review in  the process and you can expect it sometime next week. (I’ll be spending my weekend trying to get the transmission in my car fixed…wish me luck it doesn’t need replaced)

So, what the hell is this about given my title? Right, so as the game obsessed fan that I am. ( I admit this freely.) I tend to keep up on the forums for my prefered games daily. Right now since I am hot and heavy on Dragon Age 2, thats means a daily bout of forum readings on the social bioware site. There is some I agree with (I’m a Fenris fangirl…) and some I don’t (no I don’t thinks this is the worst game ever and believe it spells the end of all we love and hold dear). However, there are some things which I disagree with on such a level I tend to avoid them all together. Inevitably as the glutton for punishment that I am, I read the post anyways and scroll through the subsequeent replies and scratch my head pondering where I fit into a world holding these same people. (Don’t ask me why game forums make me ponder my place in the universe, its just better we accept it).  This thread was one of those posts done so you can see Mr. Gaider’s reponses.

I read the Original Poster’s complaint and thought…REALY!!!! *coughs* The world is coming to an end, the sky is falling, and the heathens have taken over. As we may be aware I’m a female gamer (no I do not speak for all female gamers) and married (no I do not speak for all married female gamers either or married parental femal gamers…etc). The poster goes on to support that 80% of all gamers are hertosexual males and thus all games should be tailored to make them happy. Hi…you wonder why popular culture thinks gamers are basement dwelling anti-social cretins? Yeah you just put the gamers go mainstream movement back a decade or two.

But I want to instead give kudos to Gaider for his well done response. It was far more civil than I would’ve been able to write. Secondly, I believe the community of gamers on the DA2 social site need some kudos to. I read through the comments. I read well reasoned break downs and rebuttals of the OP’s (original poster) complaint. There were plenty of flames but it was excellent to see the quality of response concerning the logic involved. While I am giving kudos, Bioware you need them for making the dialog system fool proof. You can’t flirt and not know you are flirting.

Published in: on March 25, 2011 at 5:35 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://leneliesvoice.wordpress.com/2011/03/25/biowaregamercommunity/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

