Quick Witcher 2 Thoughts

Let me say I was eagerly anticipating the release of Witcher 2. In many ways my anticipation was well rewarded. The game is beautifully rendered, pacing is well done throughout, and the story is well crafted. The controls are…clunky at best. I was able to get past the first fight much easier than Gabe but I feel his pain. It happens occasionally, when a game gets in it’s own way of being great.

Personally, I had consistent problems with the targeting switching during combat as enemies piled in and when quest lootables were next to a targeted enemy I was swinging away at some guardsman trying to take my hide. One moment I would be swacking one of 3 guys trying to kill me and then *POOF* I am staring at the inventory of someone’s pockets. I can assure you I am not rolling the guys I am killing as I am killing their friends. It would just be rude.

“Hi sorry,” *to sounds of a swords clashing, “but I really must get this bolt of cloth and bit of iron from your dead companion before I continue to trounce you!”

“Oh yes by all means! He does have a bit of coin in the other pocket. Kept it there for a pinch.” *falls over dead from repeated stabbings and a large slash through his chest*

Still, the story is good and the world is beautiful. I’m frustrated enough with the combat and controls that I am taking a break for a bit before going back to it. I know me however, no matter how infuriating the controls, if the story is solid I will persevere through and see it to the end.

Published in: on June 6, 2011 at 8:30 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://leneliesvoice.wordpress.com/2011/06/06/quick-witcher-2-thoughts/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

